Getting Ripped Off and Restaurant-Style Firecracker Edamame

I wouldn’t say I’m miserly. I mean, I don’t mend my socks or reuse my floss or anything.  But I know when I’ve been ripped off, which is why I cringe every time my husband orders $8-edamame from already overpriced Japanese restaurants. How anyone can justify selling something for $8 that only cost $2.00 to make is ridiculous. This version of edamame is from a very popular Japanese restaurant in town. Hope you enjoy it!

Firecracker Edamame

Makes 3 servings

Cook: 15 Minutes

Ready: 15 Minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag frozen organic edamame (16 oz)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Fill medium pot 3/4 with water.  Bring water to steady boil.
  2. Add frozen edamame and cook for 4 minutes, then drain water.
  3. In medium pan, add olive oil and garlic.  Stir fry for 2 minutes on medium high heat.
  4. Add edamame, salt, chili powder, paprika, and ground black pepper.  Stir until thoroughly mixed.
  5. Enjoy! (And save $6)
5 thoughts on “Getting Ripped Off and Restaurant-Style Firecracker Edamame

Leave a Reply

