Island Girl and Super Incredibly Easy Lemongrass Lychee Tea

Maui Honeymoon

I never thought of myself as an island girl. My parents immigrated to the U.S. when I was eight years old and although I kept up with the Taiwanese foods and culture, no one has labeled me as an island until my honeymoon in Hawaii. We had stopped by one of the many fresh island fruit stands in Maui to purchase coconut juice, when the owner of the fruit stand commended me for picking the right coconut and drinking its juice the correct way, by sticking a straw through the coconut’s cracked green shell.

“I can tell. You’re an island girl.” She said, proudly. Taiwan is an island and I am a girl who was born there. So, yes, that would make me an island girl.

I am not graceful, I don’t dance the hula, and I can’t swim. But I hope none of this discounts my credibility to share an island drink recipe: Lemongrass Lychee Tea.

Lemongrass Lychee Tea

Makes 3 Servings

Make: 15 Minutes

Ready: 15 Minutes

Ingredients:

  • 10 fresh lychee nuts (rich in vitamine C and B)
  • 4 tablespoons lemongrass, chopped
  • Honey or agave nectar to taste (ripe lychee nuts are very sweet, so you may not need to sweeten it further)
  • 2 trays ice cubes

Directions:

  1. Peel and rinse lychee nuts.
  2. In food processor, grind lychee nuts to your desired level of pulp.
  3. Bring 6 cups of water to steady boil, turn off stove. Add lemongrass and let steep for 4 minutes. Remove lemongrass by draining the tea into a large heat resistant pitcher or iced tea dispenser.
  4. Add ground lychee nuts to the tea.
  5. Stir in honey or agave nectar to taste.
  6. Stir well, add ice cubes and serve!
Leave a Reply

